Oil Leak??

jamievespa

Oil Leak??

Post by jamievespa on Fri Sep 23, 2011 4:52 am

Hi guys,

For a while now I've had a small puddle of oil left when the bikes been standing over night etc, at first I thought it was the gear box oil however upon further inspection (looking under the cowelling) it looks as though the oil is coming from the head.

I dunno if its loose head bolts or worn gaskets but don't really want to mess too much as I've had no good experiences working on this engine so if I could get a diagnosis I can mention it when I get the service/MOT done in a few weeks..

Scoot details: Standard PK100 w/ Simonini exhaust

Cheers!
    tull

Re: Oil Leak??

Post by tull on Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:38 am

this happeneded on my px mate and the head needed tightening and alot of it was coming from under spark plug so i would check that out and tighten it up properly Smile
    jamievespa

Post by jamievespa on Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:48 am

tull wrote:this happeneded on my px mate and the head needed tightening and alot of it was coming from under spark plug so i would check that out and tighten it up properly Smile

Aha that sounds familiar.. I had a look around the spark plug and it does look rather oily so yeah sounds like it needs the head and spark plug tightening Smile

Cheers fella Smile
    tull

Post by tull on Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:57 am

no problemo pal Very Happy
    Wally
    Site Admin
    Site Admin

Post by Wally on Fri Sep 23, 2011 7:15 am

I'd recommend investing in a torque wrench - absolutely essential bit of kit in my book - you definitely need one for cylinder heads/flywheels/clutches

“Some people will tell you that slow is good – but I’m here to tell you that fast is better. I’ve always believed this, in spite of the trouble it’s caused me. Being shot out of a cannon will always be better than being squeezed out of a tube. That is why God made fast motorcycles, Bubba…”
    JamesD

Post by JamesD on Fri Sep 23, 2011 7:20 am