Opinions and help please:D

    Share

    Poll

    Scooter A or Scooter B?

    [ 1 ]
    20% [20%] 
    [ 4 ]
    80% [80%] 

    Total Votes: 5
    avatar
    Edd England

    Posts : 61
    Join date : 2011-08-15
    Age : 24
    Location : Birmingham

    Opinions and help please:D

    Post by Edd England on Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:56 am

    Hey guys, i will be getting a scooter soon and after looking around i have found two choices that i quite like, but just wanted to get as many opinions as possible. The choices are A and B:

    Scooter A:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1964-VESPA-BLUE-CREAM-SPORTIQUE-125PX-ENGINE-WITH-DISC-FRONT-MOD-SCOOTER-RARE-/260948300583?pt=UK_Motorcycles&hash=item3cc1bb1327#ht_500wt_949

    Bear in mind that with this scooter, not matter how much of a mod i am, i ain't having all that shit all over my scooter, so that will be removed!



    Scooter B:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2002-PIAGGIO-PX-125-VESPA-WHITE-/190637306984?pt=UK_Motorcycles&hash=item2c62de7468#ht_500wt_949




    I am not entirely sure which one i prefer, i am sorta leaning towards the PX as i think that will be more reliable and will spend more time on the road than the sportique, also the PX has indicators, so it will just generally make me fell a little safer whilst riding it aha Smile.

    Cheers guys!
    avatar
    JamesD
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Posts : 684
    Join date : 2011-08-09
    Age : 24
    Location : Essex

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by JamesD on Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:58 am

    i'd say the px for your first scooter as it'll be more reliable and nicer to ride for your first scoot
    avatar
    Edd England

    Posts : 61
    Join date : 2011-08-15
    Age : 24
    Location : Birmingham

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by Edd England on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:00 am

    Yeah, i was thinking that too. Cheers man Smile.
    avatar
    jamievespa

    Posts : 449
    Join date : 2011-07-26
    Age : 24
    Location : Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by jamievespa on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:00 am

    I do like the sportique but I'd lean towards the PX especially with it being your first scoot, fairly new, autolube (not that its hard to premix though!), fuel gauge (amazing how much it's taken for granted when you haven't got one) and the indicators too Smile
    avatar
    ModdyBoy

    Posts : 379
    Join date : 2011-09-07
    Age : 22
    Location : Dewsbury

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by ModdyBoy on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:01 am

    Im not a fan of sportiques, so I'm with the PX
    avatar
    Edd England

    Posts : 61
    Join date : 2011-08-15
    Age : 24
    Location : Birmingham

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by Edd England on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:03 am

    Yeah, i'm not a massive fan of the really old scoots too, they just seem out of touch with modern transport Smile. I just love the sportique shape, think it is wonderful.
    Yeah, it's all th little things that add up with the px really. Gonna keep an eye on it and if it isn't too expensive when/if it goes over the reserve then i think i will get it Smile. I'll get my dad to drive it home though, fuck driving 150 miles on my first drive on it aha. Will probably crash before i even make it back to Birmingham!
    avatar
    jamievespa

    Posts : 449
    Join date : 2011-07-26
    Age : 24
    Location : Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by jamievespa on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:06 am

    Could always get yourself a Neco Abruzzi Razz Evil or Very Mad
    avatar
    Skajosh

    Posts : 551
    Join date : 2011-07-26
    Location : Leeds

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by Skajosh on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:08 am

    PX.

    && I dont think that sportique is so original.
    avatar
    Edd England

    Posts : 61
    Join date : 2011-08-15
    Age : 24
    Location : Birmingham

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by Edd England on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:10 am

    I think i'll pass, Jamie Smile.

    It's looking like a PX is a landslide victory, which is what i was expecting to happen, it's what i originally wanted, so why stray from the path Smile.

    May have a scooter in just over a week then if all goes to plan Smile.
    avatar
    jamievespa

    Posts : 449
    Join date : 2011-07-26
    Age : 24
    Location : Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by jamievespa on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:11 am

    Edd England wrote:I think i'll pass, Jamie Smile.

    It's looking like a PX is a landslide victory, which is what i was expecting to happen, it's what i originally wanted, so why stray from the path Smile.

    May have a scooter in just over a week then if all goes to plan Smile.

    Nice one!

    We'll have to arrange that Brum meet soon, give you a chance get out and about first and get used to it! Smile
    avatar
    Edd England

    Posts : 61
    Join date : 2011-08-15
    Age : 24
    Location : Birmingham

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by Edd England on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:14 am

    Yeah, definitely get this meet on the go! Will be good!
    avatar
    JamesD
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Posts : 684
    Join date : 2011-08-09
    Age : 24
    Location : Essex

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by JamesD on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:14 am

    yeah it's the little things like jamie said! Especially this being your first scoot, although it's not many things, when your a novice on the rode, worrying about indicators and the like will play on your mind
    avatar
    jamievespa

    Posts : 449
    Join date : 2011-07-26
    Age : 24
    Location : Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by jamievespa on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:16 am

    JamesD wrote:yeah it's the little things like jamie said! Especially this being your first scoot, although it's not many things, when your a novice on the rode, worrying about indicators and the like will play on your mind

    I still forget to cancel mine now! No
    avatar
    Edd England

    Posts : 61
    Join date : 2011-08-15
    Age : 24
    Location : Birmingham

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by Edd England on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:20 am

    I'm quite good with cancelling the indicators, well i was on my cbt.

    But i know what you mean, James, a PX does seem like a good choice for a first scoot.

    Cheers guys for all the help!
    avatar
    MH 13

    Posts : 676
    Join date : 2012-01-13
    Age : 28
    Location : Preston

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by MH 13 on Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:32 am

    i would get the px, its a blank slate at the end of the day,

    from the pics it looks like its been rebuilt to a high standard too,

    the sportique although different, its already been 'modded' up and you don't know who has done that front fork conversion and you don't know how reliable that px engine under it will be,

    like someone has asked on ebay, insurance might be a bastard to sort unless its been re-registered as a 125,

    px looks the best bet, sportique could end up with all sorts of problems.
    avatar
    NorthernJordan
    Site Admin
    Site Admin

    Posts : 3844
    Join date : 2011-07-20
    Age : 24
    Location : Cumbria

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by NorthernJordan on Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:58 am

    As the other lads have said PX all the way. There's just "less" potential problems... They have to be the easiest scooter for spares and they have a few modern extras which just make life a little easier. Or even better, see if you can find a decent priced t5 Wink

    Also Lmls aren't bad, they tend to be a bit less refined than a vespa. But they are pretty rugged.


    ____________________
    Ready Steady Go Scooter Club - Barrow-In-Furness

    LCGB Member - 5226
    avatar
    Wally
    Site Admin
    Site Admin

    Posts : 2092
    Join date : 2011-07-19
    Age : 28
    Location : Yoghurt County, UK

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by Wally on Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:14 am

    Of the two the PX looks the better buy - nice and tidy and looks as if it's been well cared for. The blue VBB looks pretty ramshackle to me. Lets just hope they don't want silly money for it. £1250 would be the absolute max I'd want to pay for that, and only cause it's been resprayed.

    If you look hard enough though, you can find a decent LML for £850. Take a look on the local sites/scooter trader, as scooters tend to go for at least 10-20% more than they're necessarily worth on ebay


    ____________________
    ____________________

    “Some people will tell you that slow is good – but I’m here to tell you that fast is better. I’ve always believed this, in spite of the trouble it’s caused me. Being shot out of a cannon will always be better than being squeezed out of a tube. That is why God made fast motorcycles, Bubba…”

    Sponsored content

    Re: Opinions and help please:D

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:46 pm